298. Colossal 

Gloria is an out-of-work party girl forced to leave her life in New York City, and move back home. When reports surface that a giant creature is destroying Seoul, she gradually comes to the realization that she is somehow connected to this phenomenon.

I had seen the trailer and was interested. It looked very funny and offbeat. So I sat down with my step mother and watched it. 

I know trailers lie, but the trailer makes it look like a funny movie, but it’s really played straight. I looked at other reviews who call it a witty satire and how it comments on the human condition. That sounds like snooty BS. I didn’t take any sort of social commentary from it at all. It’s a funny concept they play seriously. Am I supposed to find that funny? Just the fact that she gets blackout drunk and has a jerky abusive boss don’t seem all that funny to me.

There are some jokes and humorous moments but it’s not very good. Language and lots and lots of drinking. Not recommended.

Leave a comment